Distinguished Service Order

Distinguised Service Order
Awarded for: 
  1. membership in excess of 2 years
  2. reaching the rank of Sgt or up
  3. conduct at least 1 real Trooper tryout
  4. participating in a "successful" Live Operation where mission objectives were achieved

Dates back to 1886, during the reign of Queen Victoria. The award is generally not given to officers below the rank of Captain. In terms of gallantry awards, The DSO ranks below the Victoria Cross and above the Military Cross, in order of precedence. It is almost always awarded for gallantry in action. There were 8,981 awards for the First World War.